Secure Your Own Mask by Shaindel Beers

Secure Your Own Mask by Shaindel Beers

Secure Your Own Mask by Shaindel Beers

Winner of the White Pine Press Poetry Prize

White Pine Press: August 7, 2018, 112 Pages

ISBN-13: 978-1945680175

“These poems balance between the harrowing and the beautiful, hovering at the precipice where women are both horseback riding heroines and battered mothers striving to protect their homes, their children, their identities. These poems are knives thrown with precision, fairytales rendered real through the grit and dirt of the natural world surrounding their imperfect speakers. Social media helps us grieve our losses (“suicide, suicide, suicide”) and white rabbits lead us down the winding roads of our past mistakes (“Until / a man just became an escape hatch to another man, / and all the worlds were eventually the same”). Transformations abound in this collection, though not by any conventional fairytale means, as Shaindel Beers with her knife-sharp wit and even sharper intuition unveils the nuance within the nuance of any situation. These poems don’t just seek escape―they create their own worlds within the escape hatches and (re)build from there.”

Order the Book    Read Our Review

*This post contains affiliate links, so we may earn a small commission when you make a purchase through links on our site at no additional cost to you.

Related Books

Someone Somewhere Maybe by Sophie Diener

Someone Somewhere Maybe by Sophie Diener

Someone Somewhere Maybe by Sophie Diener Griffin: September 26, 2023, 176 pages ISBN-13: 978-1250892713 "For fans of Rupi Kaur, Cleo Wade, and Amanda Lovelace, Someone Somewhere Maybe speaks to the joys and sorrows of finding your way as a young woman today. "Poignant...

Devotions by Mary Oliver

Devotions by Mary Oliver

Devotions: Selected Poems by Mary Oliver Penguin Books: November 10, 2020, 480 pages ISBN-13: 978-0399563263 "A New York Times Bestseller, chosen as Oprah's "Books That Help Me Through" for Oprah's Book Club" “No matter where one starts reading, Devotions offers much...

Devotions by Mary Oliver

Devotions by Mary Oliver

Devotions: Selected Poems by Mary Oliver Penguin Books: November 10, 2020, 480 pages ISBN-13: 978-0399563263 "A New York Times Bestseller, chosen as Oprah's "Books That Help Me Through" for Oprah's Book Club" “No matter where one starts reading, Devotions offers much...

Devotions by Mary Oliver

Devotions by Mary Oliver

Devotions: Selected Poems by Mary Oliver Penguin Books: November 10, 2020, 480 pages ISBN-13: 978-0399563263 "A New York Times Bestseller, chosen as Oprah's "Books That Help Me Through" for Oprah's Book Club" “No matter where one starts reading, Devotions offers much...

Last Psalm at Sea Level by Meg Day

Last Psalm at Sea Level by Meg Day

Last Psalm at Sea Level by Meg Day Barrow Street Press: October 1, 2014, 72 pages ISBN-13: 978-0989329644 "Poetry. LGBT Studies. Deaf Poetics. "Lovely does not suffice, nor does lyric. Eloquence is only a grasping in the space of ineffable air. There are few words or...

Comments

0 Comments

0 Comments

Submit a Comment